Metallica’s Kirk Hammet performs with Exodus @ Kirk Von Hammett’s Fear FestEviL

Lifelong horror enthusiast and METALLICA guitarist Kirk Hammett joined his former band EXODUS on stage last night (Friday, February 7) at his first annual horror convention, dubbed Kirk Von Hammett’s Fear FestEviL, at The Regency Ballroom in San Francisco, California to perform the EXODUS song “Piranha” and the BLUE ÖYSTER CULT classic “Godzilla”. Video footage of the performance can be seen below (courtesy of Todd Owens).

Hammett was a member of EXODUS’ original lineup before replacing Dave Mustaine in METALLICA in 1983. In fact, Hammett was not only the person who came up with the EXODUS name, but also the first from the band to meet original EXODUS singer Paul Baloff and brought him into the group.

Kirk Von Hammett’s Fear FestEvil kicked off on Thursday (February 6) and lasts through Saturday (February 8), and Hammett told The Pulse Of Radio what he envisioned for it. “I’ve gone to San Diego Comic-Con, and I was just struck by how all it really is is a bunch of stuff to look at and a bunch of stuff to buy,” he said. “What I wanted to do with my convention is I wanted it to be an experience, you know. I wanted it to be interactive, I wanted it to have ambiance and atmosphere, and I wanted it to be unique and thrilling, and that’s what we’re trying to do here.”

Kirk Von Hammett’s Fear FestEviL will include additional musical performances by Nuclear Blast artists CARCASS, DEATH ANGEL and ORCHID.

Hammett’s relationship with DEATH ANGEL goes back more than two decades, when the METALLICA guitarist produced DEATH ANGEL’s 1986 demo, “Kill As One”.


BRUCE SPRINGSTEEEN Pays Tribute To AC/DC’s Bon Scott In Perth By Playing ‘Highway To Hell’!

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEEN AND THE E STREET BAND played the third of three shows in Perth, Australia tonight (February 8th) at the Perth Arena and paid tribute to local boy and AC/DC legend Bon Scott (his hometown of Fremantle is 15 minutes outside of Perth) by performing the staple ‘Highway To Hell’! BWBK

MASS INFECTION Return with “For I Am Genocide” April 1 on Comatose Music‏

Greek death dealers MASS INFECTION prepares to dominate the death metal scene in 2014 with their new, highly-anticipated full-length album, For I Am Genocide. This is the follow up to their 2009 release The Age of Recreation.

MASS INFECTION has crushed skulls with their precision brutality since 2003. They have certainly proven to be a supreme force with their skillful and technical style of catchy death metal. Mass Infection is strongly influenced by bands like Deeds of Flesh, Hate Eternal and Severe Torture… so you can expect a blistering assault of barbaric insanity!

1. Praised By All the Entities
2. The Scourge of Living Forms
3. Hierarchy of the Highest Abomination
4. Beholding the Throne
5. Unearthly Legion
6. Maelstrom of Endless Suffering
7. Beyond Perpetuation
8. Nihilism Reigns
9. The Genocide Revealed

Tim Lambesis back in court and new trial date set.

If you’ve been following the legal proceedings for the murder-for-hire case of As I Lay Dying frontman Tim Lambesis, you may recall that Lambesis was last in court on January 15th, at which time his scheduled “readiness conference” was delayed until today, February 6th.

As such, Lambesis was back in a Vista, CA courtroom today. Unfortunately, for those of us waiting for something significant to occur, nothing noteworthy took place today. Quite simply, the next court date was set — that date is February 19th. So basically, the situation is the same as it was on January 15th: he is scheduled for a readiness conference in two weeks, at which time we may or may not see a plea deal. For what it’s worth, Lambgoat has received word that “negotations” are ongoing, which means a plea deal is still likely in the works. It’s worth nothing that Lambesis will have to pay his annual bond fee again in May. As such, it may be in his best financial interest to accept a deal beforehand. Lambesis had previously payed $160,000.

In related news, it has been confirmed that the temporary restraining order protecting Meggan Lambesis and their children was extended on January 17th. Additionally, the next hearing in the Lambesis divorce case is scheduled for April 8th in San Diego’s North County Superior courthouse.

Despite the ongoing legal troubles of band mastermind Tim Lambesis, the forthcoming Austrian Death Machine album will indeed see the light of day. The effort will hit streets on April 1st via Artery Recordings. A track from the outing can be heard below. Here’s the official word:

Artery Recordings has teamed up with Ahhnold to release Austrian Death Machine’s new record Triple Brutal. The record will hit retail stores and digital outlets on April 1st 2014. Triple Brutal was previously crowd funded on Indiegogo and had massive support. All contributors will start receiving their packages on March 28th. Austrian Death Machines previous record Double Brutal topped the scales and sold over 60,000 copies. Royalties from Triple Brutal will be going to the World Vision Charity. For more information on the charity you can go here. (

MEGADETH “Requested” NEWSTED Off Sidewave Shows?

According to Faster Louder, NEWSTED, featuring former METALLICA, VOIVOD and FLOTSAM AND JETSAM bass legend Jason Newsted has been kicked from the bill of MEGADETH’s Soundwave sideshows.

Embryonic Devourment Interviewed @ NAMM Show 2014

Todd Owens interviews Embryonic Devourment @ NAMM Show 2014 – Anaheim, California


Northern California’s death metal juggernauts Embryonic Devourment are back with their latest slab of progressive technical death metal, which will be released February 18 on Deepsend Records. Reptilian Agenda has forged a whole new level of brutality for the band and continues to push the boundaries of death on their third album. Mixed and mastered by Colin Davis (Vile).

Order the disc at or