Aftershock Artist Spotlight: Monster Magnet

March of 2018 saw the release of the latest Monster Magnet masterpiece “Mindfucker” (Order and Stream The Album) on Napalm Records. Following three exclusive Northeastern US shows, the band headed across the pond for a European headline tour. Now they are ready to return to North America for a full headline tour this Fall. Continue reading

Mark Heylmun of Suicide Silence Interviewed @ Aftershock Festival

Metal Correspondent Gene Gaona of Capital Chaos TV probes Mark Heylmun of Suicide Silence @ Aftershock Festival 2016 October 23rd, 2016 – Sacramento, California.

On new suicide silence new album. “Dude we got a record that we finished earlier in the year. We recorded with Ross Robinson it’s mixed by Joe Barresi. It’s a self titled record and the release is up in the air but February of next year probably and we’ve been playing one new song live and got a new video coming out soon. Shits gonna flip it upside down, we went fully went for it. It’s not gonna be what you expect. It’s more punk rock, Ra, Rock n Roll, fucking slamming. It’s still insanely retarded, you got to hear it”

John D. Cronise of The Sword Interviewed At Aftershock 2015


The Iron Serbian talks festivals, record contracts, Spotify and more with John D. Cronise of The Sword @ Aftershock Festival October 24, 2015

On Aftershock Festival comparisons to European Festivals – “They’re pretty comparable, fairly similar, very well run. When your playing a festival as an artist that’s really what you look for, how good is catering, how nice is my dressing room, is it comfortable backstage,”

John D. Cronise, also credited as J.D. Cronise, is an American heavy metal musician and record producer. Originally from Richmond, Virginia, he is best known as the lead vocalist, guitarist, songwriter and former producer for doom metal band The Sword, which he co-founded in Austin, Texas in 2003. Prior to the formation of The Sword, he also performed in the bands Those Peabodys and Ultimate Dragons, the latter of which also featured original The Sword drummer Trivett Wingo.

The Sword is an American heavy metal band from Austin, Texas. Formed in 2003, the band is composed of vocalist and guitarist John D. Cronise, guitarist Kyle Shutt, bassist Bryan Richie, and drummer Santiago “Jimmy” Vela III. Originally signed to Kemado Records, the group released its debut album Age of Winters in 2006, the material for which had been largely written by Cronise. Follow-up album Gods of the Earth was released two years later and gave the group its first entry on the US Billboard 200 chart.

Deftones cover Drake’s “Hotline Bling” At Aftershock Festival 2015


During their performance at this past weekend’s Aftershock Festival, Sacramento’s Deftones sneak in a brief cover of Drake’s hit single “Hotline Bling” during their performance of their song “Passenger”.