Angerot – The Splendid Iniquity – (Black Market Metal)


South Dakota-based death metallers, Angerot rise from the ashes of Midwestern Metal to announce their crushing debut album, The Splendid Iniquity. Featuring a cast of seasoned veterans who share roots that reach back to the very beginnings of the Death Metal Movement, Angerot are more than a nod to early Swedish Death Metal, they are pure Swede Death Worship. Recorded with Eddie G at Underground Studios, mixed by Tomas Skogsberg (Entombed, Dismember, Carnage, Grave, At the Gates) at Sunlight Studios and mastered by Brad Boatright at AudioSeige, The Splendid Iniquity is a savage 40 minute sonic assault of 90’s Earache Records-era buzzsaw on your ear drums.

Pure Swedish death metal worship. That alone sounds like a death metal band. 90’s Swedish death metal had a unique sound that paved the way to a whole new death metal sound. Bands such as Entombed, Dismember, Unleashed, etc. Angerot shows their heavy Swedish death metal influence in the album “The Splendid Iniquity.” It was refreshing to hear that a band can still maintain that classic 90’s OSDM sound while bringing the intensity, brutality and new sound that makes a death metal band stand out. It is one of those albums that makes you go into a certain genre binge for a few weeks. Personally I do have a bias with death metal because of my passion for it, but I can also admit when I do not enjoy a death metal band or song. This was not the case. Once again i will use the word refreshing to describe the overall feeling i had while listening to this album.

Amazing death metal sound complimented by great vocal work and just the overall brutality in sound. This put my speakers to work. I can clearly hear the bass on the album which I love. Heavy bass adds another element to death metal which not every band is aware of. One song that stands out to me is “From the Pit to the Apex.” It has lots of intensity and is a good showcase of every weapon this band has, especially the vocals. The last solo of the song is perhaps my favorite of the whole album. Which is of course not to say there aren’t any more great solos in here. The Splendid Iniquity, reminds me of a mix between Entombed A.D. and Cut Up. Angerot is and example to follow. This is how to stand out from the rest. I will pay close attention to them for future projects. 9/10 easy.

Track Listing:
1. Black Epoch
2. Eternal Unrest
3. The Splendid Iniquity
4. Rivers of Chaos
5. Under the Calm
6. They Wake at Dusk
7. From the Pit to the Apex
8. Deliver Us…
9. That Hath Awoke
10. Falia Diaboli (Alisin)
C.R. Petit – Guitar/Vocals
Jason Ellsworth – Lead Guitars
Zaugg – Bass
Josh Ferrie – Drums


Author: AJ Guzman



Ola Lindgren of Grave Interviewed In San Francisco

Image may contain: one or more people, people on stage, crowd, concert and indoor

The Mighty Z of Capital Chaos TV conducted an interview with guitarist/vocalist Ola Lindgren of Swedish death metal veterans GRAVE before the band’s October 12, 2012 concert at Slim’s in San Francisco, California during their North American tour with MORBID ANGEL and DARK FUNERAL. You can now watch the chat in two parts below.

Sweden’s legendary death metal kings GRAVE have returned home. Never let it be said they don’t know how to make an entrance.

“Home” in this case is Century Media, ground zero for their 1991 launch with “Into The Grave” and six more albums of sonic violence before seeking out new avenues following “As Rapture Comes” in 2006 with the now defunct Regain Records. And although the two records that surfaced while GRAVE was away – “Dominion VIII” (2008) and “Burial Ground” (2010) – continued to uphold the band’s penchant for quality mayhem, new outing “Endless Procession Of Souls” hits like a ton of bricks thanks to its relentless speed, crushing groove, and unexpectedly rich clarity.

Released at a time when death metal is enjoying unparalleled popularity and competition for the crown is fierce, “Endless Procession Of Souls” takes the best of what GRAVE has offered in the past and chalks up a bigger and meaner spin on things. The band’s sole remaining founding member and musical director, vocalist/guitarist Ola Lindgren, is only too happy to be back on familiar turf and spearheading what has been deemed by some of GRAVE’s long time supporters as their strongest and most diverse album since “Soulless” was issued in 1994.

Those Who Bring the Torture “Piling Up” CD Review


Swedish death metal band, Those Who Bring the Torture, have released their fourth full length effort Piling Up. The album is 10 tracks long and each one brings the brutality full force. It starts with a headbanging metal onslaught in the song “Under Twin Suns” and continues through the next 39 minutes serving you beautiful death metal that’ll make you smile as the bodies are buried in your houses crawl space. The project is helmed by mastermind and TWBTT founder, Rogga Johansson who supplies guitar, bass and vocal duties. Dennis Blomberg is the second man in this dynamic duo and he provides guitar and bass duties as well. For a two man job, this album delivers some heavy hitting tracks that’ll satisfy Hypocrisy, Malevolent Creation and Grave fans. The guitar work in this album is worthy of the greatest headbangers.



Just listening will inspire anyone to start doing windmills. The vocals are gutturally low and the high’s are screechy goodness, like a man-bat being torn in half. The only thing that stood out for me was that the drums seemed a little too alike in every song. Same snare, high hat, kick drum combo. Occasionally there would be a double bass that would stand out, or a mild blast beat, but otherwise, it was quite repetitive on the percussion front. In any event, Piling Up is an entertaining album to listen to front to back and you’ll find your moments where headbanging is a must. If you’re looking for technical drum technique and shred-tastic guitar solo’s, this is not the place to look. If you’re looking for good ole fashioned Death Metal fair, then Those Who Bring the Torture have just what you’re looking for in this album.

Piling Up is set for North American release on August 19th, 2014 via Selfmadegod Records.  Robb Napalm/Capital Chaos TV