Oakland, California based post-punk group Ötzi premieres Video of “Hounds”

In anticipation of their upcoming European Superstition Tour, the Oakland, California based post-punk group Ötzi has just released a new video. Out of the tour’s 14 cities, one highly anticipated destination is the popular Return to the Batcave Festival in Wroclaw, Poland, where Ötzi will be playing alongside classic headliners Pink Turns Blue and Screaming Dead, as well as American contemporaries Bootblacks and more. “Bat-Cave Productions put out our Ghosts album in Europe, so we’ve been talking with them about playing this fest for over a year,” says Ötzi drummer Gina Marie“We’re beyond excited.” Other highlights include a Barcelona show with Endora y sus Vicios and Malefxio.

They’re equally thrilled with their haunting new video, “Hounds”, a track from their 2017 debut album,Ghosts. The video depicts a solitary girl playing with imaginary friends, interspersed with footage of the group members paying homage to Hecate, the ancient goddess of night, witchcraft and crossroads.“The song is about the discovery of personal power, exemplified by the goddess Hecate,” explains Ötzi bassist Akiko Sampson, who wrote the lyrics and directed the video. “In the video, I wanted to explore power and powerlessness in feminine roles. The childlike main character survives neglect with her imagination and hope. But in the end, she stops waiting—for love, for respect, for acceptance. She moves forward and determines her own fate.” The video also introduces Ötzi’s newest member, guitarist K. Dylan Edrich.

SUPERSTITION TOUR – 2018:

Ötzi embarks on their Superstition Tour from October 04-20. Dates are below:

Thurs Oct 04 – Barcelona (Asociación Freedonia)
Fri Oct 05 – Zaragoza (Arrebato)
Sat Oct 06 – TBA
Sun Oct 07 – Grenoble (La Baf)
Mon Oct 08 – Zurich (Boschbar)
Tues Oct 09 – Nuremberg (Projekt 31)
Wed Oct 10 – Warsaw (Młodsza Siostra)
Fri Oct 12 – Wroclaw Return of the Batcave Fest
Sun Oct 14 – Leipzig (Zoro)
Mon Oct 15 – Berlin (Koma f @ Köpi)
Tues Oct 16 – Bremen (Kultur im Bunker)
Wed Oct 17 – Ghent (Kinky Star)
Thurs Oct 18 – Paris (Le Cirque Electrique)
Fri 19 Oct – Bordeaux Batcave Fest (New Chicho)
Sat 20 Oct – Barcelona (Roquetes)

Categories: Music Videos, News, Tour Dates

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.